Playlist 391 - Mar 1 2016

New music this week from Tindersticks (typically smouldering soul cut with brass), The Comet Is Coming (outer space free jazz rumblings with sax drones), Britta Phillips (sweet dream pop cover of Evie Sands)and Virginia Wing (dark mutated disco).

A couple of great reissues from Nick Garrie (gorgeous baroque pop from 1969) and The Monochrome Set (filthy lyrical put downs from 1985).

A gorgeous remix of Lutine by Sarah Angliss and Stephen Hiscock.

And Matthew Bourne, wringing magical sounds from a moog.

More on these pages.

The Underground of Happiness
uplifting pop music of every creed
Twitter: UndergroundOfHappy

Playlist 391
Tues Mar 1 2016
(repeated on Tuesdays 8.30pm)
UCC 98.3FM
listen live on the web at
*listen back to this show here

Matthew Bourne – Sam (playing BFI Southbank, London, Mar 5)
Tindersticks – Second chance man (playing Barbican Theatre, London, Apr 29)
The Comet Is Coming – Slam dunk in a black hole (playing London Fields Brewery, Apr 13)
Sun Ra & His Arkestra – What’s that
Iggy Pop, Tarwater & Alva Noto – Leaves of grass
Lutine – Sallow tree (Sarah Angliss & Stephen Hiscock remix)
Nick Garrie – Little Bird (playing Sebright Arms, London, Mar 12)
Edward Penfold – Lawrence of Arabica (playing Bristol Psych Fest May 21)
Virginia Wing – Rhonda (radio edit)
Those Unfortunates - Those Unfortunates we are
The Monochrome Set – Whoops! What a palaver
Britta Phillips – One fine summer morning
Bill Pritchard – Saturn and Co
Patrick Freeman – Power
Twin Peaks – Walk to the one you love (playing Barfly, London, Apr 19)
Tortoise – Yonder blue
The Chills – When the poor can reach the moon

*next week's show features music from Jaako Eino Kalevi, Ariel Pink & The Association, among others

e-mail the show on
or text +353 (0)86-7839800
please mark messages “uoh”

Conor O'Toole,
c/o UCC 98.3FM,
Áras na Mac Léinn,
Student Centre,
University College Cork,


Popular posts from this blog

The Go-Betweens - 1978-1990 (Beggars Banquet)

Playlist 513 - Best of 2020

Playlist 510: Aug 2020, New Music