Playlist 401 - May 10 2016

Another stream of great new music this week.

The 2nd Melt Yourself Down album is just out, another marvellous set of space jazz funk. Another track from the Dieterich & Barnes album (pic), delirious improv instrumentals. Holy Fuck back with some great punk funk. Orchestra of Spheres with tricky shapeshifting psych grooves. A couple of lovely looped tropical cuts from Aries and Maria Usbeck. The 2nd Kevin Murphy album, superior wracked songwriting.

And The Moles, new music from them for the first time in years, beautiful bittersweet jangle pop.

More on these pages as always.

The Underground of Happiness
uplifting pop music of every creed
Twitter: UndergroundOfHappy

Playlist 401
Tues May 10 2016
(repeated on Tuesdays 8.30pm)
UCC 98.3FM
listen live on the web at
*listen back to this show here

Melt Yourself Down – The god of you (playing Larmer Tree Festival, July 15)
Orchestra of Spheres – Trapdoors (playing Club Makossa, London, May 26)
Aries – Nieve de noche
Maria Usbeck - Moai y yo
Holy Fuck – Xed eyes
Dieterich & Barnes – Philae lands on Comet 67
Kevin Murphy – Your heart’s a circle around me
Nadia Reid – Holy low (playing Slaughtered Lamb, London, June 1)
Aldous Harding – I’m so sorry
Astronauts – Hider
A Dyjecinski – The fight (playing Union Chapel, London, May 28)
We Show Up On Radar – All of your bad dreams
Jackie Lynn – Alien love
John of Silence – No lie
The Moles – Artificial heart

*next week's show features music from Brigid Mae Power, Tenniscoats, & Teho Teardo & Blixa Bargeld, among others

e-mail the show on
or text +353 (0)86-7839800
please mark messages “uoh”

Conor O'Toole,
c/o UCC 98.3FM,
Áras na Mac Léinn,
Student Centre,
University College Cork,


Popular posts from this blog

The Go-Betweens - 1978-1990 (Beggars Banquet)

Playlist 513 - Best of 2020

Playlist 510: Aug 2020, New Music