Playlist 337 - Dec 16 2014

This week's show was dominated by a look back at some of my favourite music of 2014. (There'll be more on this in the next few weeks by the way, stay tuned for details.)

So plenty of album of the year candidates in Caribou and Wildbirds & Peacedrums, Future Islands and East River Pipe (albeit reissued), Adrian Crowley and Aldous Harding.

There was also some new music from Kaitlyn Aurelia Smith and Slow Dancing Society, more from both of those in the new year.

And a Hawaiian Christmas treatment from Arthur Lyman (thanks Trunk Records), just to keep things seasonal.

As I said, more on the blog over the next few weeks on my fave music of 2014. And the next show is on Jan 6th. Happy holidays.

Dec 16 2014 w/ Caribou,W&P,Adrian Crowley,Jessica Pratt,Aldous Harding,Cool Ghouls,East River Pipe++ by The Underground Of Happiness on Mixcloud

The Underground of Happiness
uplifting pop music of every creed
Twitter: UndergroundOfHappy

Playlist 337
Tues Dec 16 2014
(repeated on Tuesdays 8.30pm)
UCC 98.3FM
listen live on the web at
*listen back to this show here

Arthur Lyman – Mele Kalikimaka/Jingle bells
Hiss Golden Messenger – Chapter and verse (Ione’s song)
Jessica Pratt – Back, baby
Adrian Crowley – The stranger (playing de Barra’s, Clonakilty, Dec 28)
Slow Dancing Society – Shadows and blinds
Kaitlyn Aurelia Smith – Careen
Future Islands – Doves (playing Roundhouse, London, Mar 30+31)
Cool Ghouls – Orange light
East River Pipe – Wholesale lies
Caribou – Can’t do without you
Wildbirds & Peacedrums – The offbeat
Aldous Harding – Two bitten hearts
Sun Kil Moon – Ben’s my friend
Benjamin Schoos feat. April March – J’ai essayé de t’aimer

*the next show will be on Jan 6th
**Happy Christmas & New Year to everyone

e-mail the show on
or text +353 (0)86-7839800
please mark messages “uoh”

Conor O'Toole,
c/o UCC 98.3FM,
Áras na Mac Léinn,
Student Centre,
University College Cork,


Popular posts from this blog

The Go-Betweens - 1978-1990 (Beggars Banquet)

Playlist 513 - Best of 2020

Playlist 510: Aug 2020, New Music