Playlist 409 - July 5 2016

The Fiction Aisle is a band you'll be hearing plenty about round here over the next while. It's Thomas White, ex Electric Soft Parade, of Brighton and he makes gorgeous but intriguing and often unsettling orchestral pop music. On this week's show we had his cover of a Camera Obscura tune which finds some kind of ambient rush that the original cunningly hid.

Straight after was Camera Obscura themselves, always good to be reminded of their broken pop genius.

Vinyl Williams with some great magic carpet cosmic soul. Lawrence Arabia plying a lovely late Beatles fed through post punk sound. Lake Ruth, on the baroque end of psych pop, great stuff.

And August Wells, currently on tour over here, compelling bruised soul.

More on these pages.

The Underground of Happiness
uplifting pop music of every creed
Twitter: UndergroundOfHappy

Playlist 409
Tues July 5 2016
(repeated on Tuesdays 8.30pm)
UCC 98.3FM
listen live on the web at
*listen back to this show here

Seazoo - Teeth (playing Indietracks Festival, July 29-31)
Urusei Yatsura – Phasers on stun
Bob Mould – You say you
A Giant Dog – Sex & drugs
The Altered Hours – I’m on a high (playing Townlands Carnival, Macroom, July 8-10)
TAU – Mo anam cara
The Fiction Aisle – Country mile (playing Patterns, Brighton, July 21)
Camera Obscura – My maudlin career
Vinyl Williams – Riddles of the sphinx
August Wells – She was a question (playing Pine Lodge, Myrtleville, July 9, plus Irish tour)
littlebow – The last summer of the century
Lawrence Arabia – A lake
Lake Ruth - The only one who knows
Joasinho – Meshes
Elias Krantz – Patchwork (excerpt)
Merchandise – Flower of sex

*next week's show features more music from Bat For Lashes, Tim Presley & Cate Le Bon, among others

e-mail the show on
or text +353 (0)86-7839800
please mark messages “uoh”

Conor O'Toole,
c/o UCC 98.3FM,
Áras na Mac Léinn,
Student Centre,
University College Cork,


Popular posts from this blog

The Go-Betweens - 1978-1990 (Beggars Banquet)

Playlist 513 - Best of 2020

Playlist 510: Aug 2020, New Music