Playlist 411 - July 19 2016

The Moles have a new album out next month, which is great news, and even better it sounds really good. You'll find a song from it in this wk's show.

Lawrence Arabia new album, more great sunshine pop with an edge. Stephen Steinbrink sits well with that, smooth AM sounds with an undercurrent of unease. Astronauts, another example of hushed but devastating songs.

Elias Krantz makes lovely groovy minimalist instrumentals, jazz rock you might say. Marielle V Jakobsons makes wonderful long form drone sounds with violins and guitars.

And Melt Yourself Down, space rock jams for the ages.

More on these pages.

The Underground of Happiness
uplifting pop music of every creed
Twitter: UndergroundOfHappy

Playlist 411
Tues July 19 2016
(repeated on Tuesdays 8.30pm)
UCC 98.3FM
listen live on the web at
*listen back to this show here

Melt Yourself Down – Dot to dot (playing Festival No. 6, Portmeirion, Sept 3)
Marielle V Jakobsons – Rising light
Elias Krantz – Patchwork (excerpt)
Silver Apples – The edge of wonder
Lutine – Died of love (Laura Cannell remix)
littlebow – The singing sands
IX Tab – Harvest
Moon Bros – These stars
William Tyler – Albion moonlight
Rhyton – D. D. Damage
Lawrence Arabia – Another century (playing The Lexington, London, Sept 16)
Stephen Steinbrink – Anagrams
Batteries – The fall-in-love club
Astronauts – Breakout
The Moles – Artificial heart

*next week's show features favourite music from the first half of 2016 inc. Cavern of Anti-Matter, Tortoise, Cate Le Bon & The Fiction Aisle, among others

e-mail the show on
or text +353 (0)86-7839800
please mark messages “uoh”

Conor O'Toole,
c/o UCC 98.3FM,
Áras na Mac Léinn,
Student Centre,
University College Cork,


Popular posts from this blog

The Go-Betweens - 1978-1990 (Beggars Banquet)

Playlist 513 - Best of 2020

Playlist 510: Aug 2020, New Music